Administrative Setup




Jaisalmer is the largest district (in area) of the Jodhpur Division and administrative control and monitoring of the district is carried out by Collector and District Magistrate ,who  is the head of District Administration. He is assisted by one Additional District Magistrate & one ADM(Development) who is CEO, Zila Parishad.


For administration and development, the district is divided into four sub-divisions i.e. Jaisalmer ,Pokaran, Fatehgarh and Bhaniyana and four  tehsils, i.e. Jaisalmer,Pokaran Fatehgarh and Bhaniyana. The developmental activities of the district are being looked after by three Panchayat Samities, i.e. Jaisalmer,Sam and Sankra. There are total 813 revenue villages and 128  Gram panchayats.

Sub Divisions 4 Jaisalmer,Pokaran,Fatehgarh, Bhaniyana
Tehsils 4 Jaisalmer,Pokaran,Fatehgarh, Bhaniyana
ILR Circles 35  
Patwar Circles 139  
Revenue Villages 835  

Panchayati Raj

With the ushering in of the Panchayati Raj, three block Panchayat Samities namely Jaisalmer,Sam (Hqrs. Jaisalmer) and Sankra (HQrs. Pokaran) having its total 206 Gram Panchayats have been functioning in the district and are governed by the Zila Parishad under the Chairmanship of Zila Pramukh and administratively supervised by the District Collector who is ex-officio District Development officer. The aim of the Panhayat samities it to promote development activities at the block level and oversee implementation with regard to some of the schemes. After the re-set of Panchayati Raj, Gram Panchayats  Panchayat Samities and Zila Parishad have empowered to work independently keeping in view the requirement and necessity of the developmental setup in their respective areas.  

Development Blocks 7 Jaisalmer,Sam,Sankra,fatehgarh,Nachna,Mohangarh,Bhaniyana
Gram Panchayats 206  
Nagar Parishad 1 Jaisalmer
Nagar Palika 1 Pokaran